Table 15 Regional bureaus 大行政区

Area	Initial subdivisions	1st secretary CCP	1st chairman	Commander (PLA)	Creation	End Military Civil	People's government
Huabei Area (North China) Capital: Beijing 华北	Hebei, Shanxi, Chahar, Pingyuan, Suiyuan, Beijing, and Tianjin Population (est.): 67,068,386	Liu Shaoqi	Dong Biwu Acting chmn Liu Lantao 2 vice chmn 35 members	5th Field Army Nie Rongzhen	9 May 1948	15 November 1953 19 June 1953	
Dongbei Area (Northeast) Capital: Shenyang 东北	Songjiang, Jilin, Heilongjiang, Liaodong, Lia oxi, Rehe, Lüshun- Dalian, Shenyang,Benxi, Anshan, and Fushun Population (est.): 41,570,678	Gao Gang	Gao Gang 6 vice chmn 28 members	4th Field Army Gao Gang	1 January 1948	14 January 1953 19 June 1954	17-08-49 Untill 31-10-1949
Huadong Area (East China) Capital: Shanghai 华东	Jiangsu, Zhejiang, Anhui, Fujian, Shandong, Shanghai, and Nanjing Population (est.): 140,928,712	Rao Shushi	Rao Shushi 8 vice chmn 55 members	3rd Field Army Chen Yi	27 January 1950	2 December 1953 19 June 1954	
Zhongnan Area (Central South) Capital: Wuhan 中南	Hubei, Hunan, Henan, Jiangxi, Guangdong, Guangxi, and Hankou Population (est.): 136,775,290	Lin Biao	Lin Biao 8 vice chmn 63 members	4th Field Army Lin Biao	5 February 1950	21 January 1953 7 November 1954	
Xibei Area (Northwest) Capital: Xi'an 中南	Shaanxi, Gansu, Ningxia, Qinghai, Xinjiang, and Xi'an Population (est.): 23,471,480	Peng Dehuai	Peng Dehuai 7 vice chmn 49 members	1st Field Army Peng Dehuai	19 January 1950	27 January 1953 8 November 1954	
Xinan Area (Southwest) Capital: Chongqing 西南	Sichuan, Guizhou, Yunnan, Xikang, and Chongqing Population (est.):70,634,691	Deng Xiaoping	Liu Bocheng 9 vice chmn 68 members	2nd Field Army He Long	9 February 1950	14 January 1953 19 June 1954	

Liu Shaoqi 1949 vice chairman CPGC Dong Biwu 1953 chairman political and juridical affairs Nie Rongzhen 1950 head general staff PLA

Gao Gang 1952 head state planning commission

Rao Shushi 1953 head organisation bureau CCP Chen Yi 1950 vice premier

Lin Biao 1950 ill and in SU

Peng Dehuai 1950 commander-in-chief Korea war

Deng Xiaoping 1952 vice premier en vice chairman financial committee Liu Bocheng 1950 president military academy PLA